C's StreetFox (my first project)

Hi everyone! I'm excited to get involved with what seems like a great community that you have here! I'm a software engineer from the west of Ireland, and this is my first time attempting something like this, so I want to keep a bit of a build log here so I can see how far I get. Hopefully posting here will keep me motivated to work on this project, as it feels like a massive undertaking. If I can get something rolling around, I will be extremely happy.

About a year ago I bought plans for the StreetFox and the Warrior. I purchased my first welder (cheap DC arc welder) to start the project. I tried welding some steel plates together and had very unsatisfactory results, which put me off trying for a while. Then one thing led to another, I got a new job, the world locked down, and the project was never started. Fast forward to a few weeks ago Ireland went into lockdown again and I was looking for a new project. I figured I'll make it happen! I am fortunate to live in a house with a back garden where I can have a bit of space to work. Unfortunately, I do have quite limited space and no indoor room for working or storage. My steel is starting to get very rusty from sitting out in the weather on the west coast of Ireland (for those of you unfamiliar, lots of rain).