PDA

View Full Version : Welding advice request

hiyawathen
11-24-2013, 12:49 AM
Practiced welding some 16 gage tubing today...used 1/16" E6013 rod with dc inverter stick welder @ 40amps. When viewing the pics...please remember this is the first time I've ever struck an arc.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/24/e6ypetap.jpg

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/24/qyhavy2u.jpg

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/24/mabybe4a.jpg

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/24/anejamah.jpg

Any good tips for better looking welds? Should I go bigger rod or try a diiferent type rod or...?

Thanks,
Dave

darnthedog
11-24-2013, 01:03 AM
The welds look pretty cold to me. Is this your practice or project?
Need to grind them down and see if you got penetration. Most of that appears to be stuck to the top and too each other. Not quite melting the base. Looks like a lot of false starts and not much flow.
I'm no expert but that how my first welds looked. Had to turn up the heat and slow my movement to allow the puddle to form. Also if you don't get good penetration the project will fall apart when you least expect it. Hope that helps.

hiyawathen
11-24-2013, 01:53 AM
Practice, I cut up a bunch of pieces for a timberwolf project and this is some of the leftover steel to practice on. I want to get better at welding first before I actually start trying to build the real frames. I figured if I was gonna learn how to weld, might as well start with the same materials used in the plans. Should I increase amps or slow down the travel of the electrode? Seems like I needed to move quickly or the edges of the metal would melt further apart...or is it just an optical illusion? Seems like the electrodes burn into the work quite rapidly ...is this normal? I think I used 10 to 12 electrodes in this first practice.

Sent from my GT-P3113 using Tapatalk

Tradetek
11-24-2013, 01:58 AM
Sit down and spend some quality time with ChuckE2009 and WeldingTipsAndTricks on YouTube.com.