PDA

View Full Version : Runaway steering?

pileit1
05-08-2013, 09:34 AM
Hi guys. I've got a Street Fox in rolling chassis stage and I have noticed something peculiar. This is my first attempt at building a trike, or any bike for that matter. Oh and by the way, my welding skills are improving.:builder2:
ANYWAY, I had my first unpowered test drive last night!:punk: COOOOOOOOOOOL! One thing bothers me though. When I make a tight turn the steering wants to go all the way to its' extreme travel and it takes a fair amount of effort to bring it back to a straight track. Is this normal? My caster and camber angles are both at about 15 degrees.

All input, suggestions, and comments welcome. I'll have some pics at a later date, but it's your regular off the shelf Street Fox.

Radical Brad
05-08-2013, 11:10 AM
There is a point where the steering will max out, but usually this is well beyond what you would need under normal riding. The handlebars would normally hit your body before you would max out.

Brad

adrian
05-08-2013, 12:08 PM
it takes a fair amount of effort to bring it back to a straight track.

If the angles are out you effectively have to 'lift' the bike (and your own) weight to turn the wheels back to straight. The tendency to want to continue to turn once started is called 'steering flop'. Graucho's comments here might help - http://forum.atomiczombie.com/showthread.php/5230-Steering-flop-examples?p=49998#post49998

Cheers,
-Adrian

Ticktock
05-08-2013, 08:41 PM
Hi,
Just be aware that you are comparing apples and oranges! Grauchos' film is showing solo bikes, and you are talking about a three wheeler which stays upright!
Almost any wheel set up with normal angles will "flop" to full lock while stationary or at low speed, once it is turned away from straight ahead.