PDA

View Full Version : after much searching...

Naryia
05-25-2012, 09:27 PM
I have spent some hours scouring the forum for something touching on what I'd like to do, but nothing quite answers all my questions. So I feel the need to post, for my eyeballs are drying out from all this reading. I hope this is the right board to post to.

I am just getting into this sort of thing and would like a few pointers or suggestions in very layman terms if you please.

I have an old mountain bike, I think with 26" wheels, maybe 24", women's style. I would like to kind of convert it into something like a Bandito or a high roller (I think?), but I tend to be tipsy these days, (not the fun kind). I was wondering if there was a way to add a third wheel somewhere so I don't wipe out and die like I did when I was a kid. I also need to be able to get up fair size hills on roads. If I can't quite make it though, I don't wanna plop over and roll back down the hill.

I also want to eventually add some sort of harness apparatus for my dogs to be attached to and trot along behind me off to the sides slightly. So the wheels need to not get in the way of that.

I don't mind saying I'd like to start easy so I don't feel overwhelmed by a big project. Any suggestions would be great and appreciated.

LJ

darnthedog
05-25-2012, 10:03 PM
There are 13 trikes to choose from on the DYI plans. Some Tadpoles- Two wheels in front and some Deltas-Two wheels in back. The closest to a Bandito I can see is the Tricruiser which is a Tadpole Of course it is a long wheel base rather than a short. I have a Warrior in Progress and a Deltarunner on the back burner with plan to build a couple Spirits and a new one that Brad is designing right now that is a front wheel drive bike, but it is also a two wheeler. These plans are like potato chips once you start you won't build just one. Welcome to the insanity and please show us your project with pictures as you get started building. Good luck and have fun choosing.