PDA

View Full Version : opinion on this equipment?

jcleland
06-02-2008, 02:37 PM
Hi Everyone,

New to the forums and considering this unit for general frame brazing/welding. Does anyone have experience with this equipment?

http://www.harrisproductsgroup.com/equipment/port-a-torch.asp

I know the tanks are a little small, what kinds of issues might I have using this unit for mild steel work?

Thanks!
James

jcleland
06-02-2008, 07:15 PM
Hi Papa,

Thanks for the information! I appreciate the pointers regarding the handle and hoses. I don't see that the outfit comes with backflow checkvalves or flashback arrestors. What do you think?

I think I'll visit my local shop (http://www.airgas.com/) and see about additional equipment. Would you expect a business such as this to be fairly knowledgeable about rods, flux, brazing and welding, or should I seek guidance elsewhere? I have very little experience with welding, zero with gas, but I have been reading extensively on the subject.

Also, would you feel comfortable using a gas welder in a garage shop, or do most people use these AWAY from their homes? :) I know outdoors with a breeze is a no-go, but my wife is a little freaked out about having this stuff in the house. Plus, I hear that you're not supposed to store acetylene above 130F. While I doubt that my garage would be that warm, it does get pretty hot during the summer.

Sorry for the beginner questions, thanks again!
James

savarin
06-02-2008, 09:13 PM
Given the option I would have an oa set but here we have to pay rentals on the bottles. It is not possible to own and refill. (except co2)
My existing gas rentals on a "D" size CO2 and an "E" size argoshield is $380 (which does not include a fill) a year and she who must be obeyed goes ape at that.
A one off hire is possible for a short period of time but the hassles make it unrealistic for more than once a year.