PDA

View Full Version : Gasless MIG or Arc?

velotux
03-03-2010, 04:21 PM
Hi all.

At work we have a nice tradesmig gas MIG welder. It is stepped power output, and I feel even on its lowest current setting, and having played around with wire feed speed, that it is to powerfull for thin stuff. It is rather industrial and I keep blowing holes in the 1/16th box. Particularly when filling holes. I have welded many times with it, with thick, heavy materials. Ironically I have never had to weld thin gauge material or sheet. I am no pro, but I have never had anything come apart on me, yet, but it has all been industrial heavy duty stuff.

My question is, for constructing these bikes, should I get a gassless MIG? Or an Arc welder of around 100A. I suggested gasless MIG, as I will be welding outside sometimes, so the shield gas does not get blown away. I have not used an Arc welder since I was in college, and remember with a vivid hatred, my frustrations at striking up. I don't have this problem with the MIG at work constantly sticking and it strikes up for me great. I tried a friends arc welder and spent most of the afternoon heaving the stick off the test material, after it constantly stuck. Having said that, the sticks were extremely old so may not have been in the best condition and a bit damp.

Any suggestions or advice greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Tim

darwin-t
03-03-2010, 05:18 PM
By gasless MIG do you mean a wire fed flux core wire welder? These work pretty well with thin stuff....

velotux
03-03-2010, 05:37 PM
Thanks for the reply darwin-t.