PDA

View Full Version : Welding

Cheezy Rider
02-22-2010, 06:10 PM
Don't know if this the right place to ask this question, but here goes. I am a newbie, and have question about putting the frame together. I just talked to my brother which is a welder. I told him what I am wanting to do in the way of building a bike and asked him which way to go, stick/mig/or braze. What I want to know which way you guys generally go. Like he said, on that light of material, with stick welding, you would just blow a hole in it. With brazing there has to be alot more heat, therefore more chance of distortion, and not that easy to do. Mig, you have to be pretty good at it. I am a Journeyman Pipefitter, and have messed with all of them, but none with perfect acuracy. Our of all of them I am probably the best at stick welding. I just wanted everyones opinion. I know that I could take it to someone to weld, but them may not be as picky as me about being perfectly square and all that. Plus then I have to pay someone. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks

darwin-t
02-22-2010, 07:21 PM
I think that many if not most people here are split between a stick welder - mostly those 90 amp ones from Harbor Freight and flux core wire welders, about the same amperage and also from Harbor Freight.

I have both of those AND Oxyacetylene. I am fair with the stick welder. Many people say the wire welders are good and easy to learn. I can lay a bead on a piece of steel, but when it gets to putting pieces together, it just doesn't work. I just got it though, so that may not be a fair assessment.

I tend to weld as best as I can with the stick welder and go over it with the OA. The worst thing about the torch is it gets everything RED hot. This causes distortion, of course, and you have to wait quite a while for it to cool down before you can weld anything else near it. I find it easiest to do tack welds with because I don't have to touch the steel and possibly move something.