PDA

View Full Version : WELDING PROBLEM!! Why don't my welds stay welded?

PaulPb
01-23-2010, 06:58 PM
Hello all;

I got to the point of having my 1st trike welded together (warrior design) 3 wheels rolling. looks really cool!!

So I sat down.....then rolled down the driveway..with 180lbs of me on it....and the welds broke !!!! -

I invested lots of time and money so far and am not about to quit......but what did I do wrong? (or is it the design)

Tell me - since this is my first time using an arc welder.

PaulPb

savarin
01-23-2010, 07:05 PM
difficult to say precisely without a photo.
I would assume you had adhesion but no fusion in the weld.
This is the most common problem at the beginning.
What this means is if your beads looked good then they just lay on the metal without actually melting the two parts together.
If your beads look ugly then you probably only melted the metal in tiny sections and didnt get a continuous joint.
Post some photos so we can see

Radical Brad
01-23-2010, 07:20 PM
Most likely penetration. The frame will bend far before the welds will break if they are done with proper penetration.

Could you post a few photos?

I might be able to suggest some simple gusset or truss arrangements that will help for now.

Brad

PaulPb
01-23-2010, 08:22 PM
This week some time I hope I can get to it - I'm going to clean it up a bit - make sure all my angles are right, weld again - then I'll post some photos - It's a mess now - (or maybe I'll get a few photos tonight......

Thanks PaulPb

jimFPU
01-23-2010, 08:29 PM
Paul, post the photos of the broken welds! This will give us great insight! And you will get great help!

PaulPb
01-23-2010, 08:54 PM
here are a few photos

PaulPb
01-23-2010, 09:00 PM
here are some more

darwin-t
01-23-2010, 10:01 PM
I'm building a Warrior, too and now I'm scared! I tend to grind my welds down and do them over - sometimes repeatedly.