PDA

View Full Version : Weldable?

SirJoey
04-02-2008, 06:29 PM
I have a frame I'd like to hack & use, but I'm not sure if I can. It's "4130". Not weldable, is it?

Wood Butcher
04-02-2008, 07:59 PM
I'm not a professional welder, but here's what I have learned...

4130 (CrMo) can be welded (it welds similar to mild steel). However, due to the grain structure of 4130 the resulting weld may be prone to cracking after it cools. It is really better suited to either o/a or TIG welding, but it can be welded using stick or MIG.

If stick or MIG is your only option, two items are a must:

1) The base metal cannot be too clean--no grease, oil, rust or paint. After you have removed all the contaminants, clean it again. Wipe down the area to be welded with a solvent like acetone or lacquer thinner.

2) Preheat the area to be welded--200-300F will do the job. Don't let it cool down--get to welding once it is up to temperature.

All that being said, we're not talking about aircraft quality work here. A lot of cycling purists tear their hair out at the mention of using EMT on a bicycle frame, in addition to welding the joints instead of brazing them.

To illustrate the point, one of my co-workers built a TE Clone five years ago using two junked CrMo frames and enough 3/4" EMT to make the chainstays. He MIG welded all the joints with the only preparation being removal of paint and rust with a wire wheel on his angle grinder. He now has over 1500 miles on the bike and has not had any sort of weld failure. Call it what you will, it's either dumb luck, excellent craftsmanship (uh...not quite) or the 4130 weld issue is somewhat overblown on bicycle frames.

That's my $0.02 worth. YMMV.

SirJoey
04-02-2008, 08:13 PM
Okay, thanx. That's about what I thought. I was pretty sure it was Cro-Mo, but wasn't certain.

I'm not gonna fool with it... more hassle (& risk, considering my lack of welding skills) than it's worth.