PDA

View Full Version : I am a certified welder

K-Bar
03-15-2008, 07:01 PM
I am a certified welder. I went to welding school several times, the first time when I was 20, to the Todd Shipyards welding school here in Houston. The second time I attended the county technology school in San Francisco and certified as a Coast Guard certified hull welder. As part of that combination welder school certificate, I certified in oxy-acetylene, TIG, MIG and SMAW (stick.) The emphasis was on heavy steel plate welding with E7018 (1" thick steel plate and greater, like hull plates) but the first process we had to master was oxy-acetylene, then stick, then TIG and finally, MIG. My instructor said "Learning MIG welding without knowing stick is like learning to drive in an automatic transmission car. You're not really driving, you're just steering."

Yes, MIG is easy to do. Yes, you can weld things together without really knowing very much. Yes, the chipping and clean-up is less work. But unless you actually know how to weld, you're just mud-daubing it on there. Thats a little hazardous, too, because after you have mig welded something together with blobs of chicken poop, you are then going to go out and ride around on it! The important part is not how pretty it looks on the outside (although a good looking outward appearance does tell you what the weld is like inside, to a degree) but whether the weld has integrity on the inside.