PDA

View Full Version : This welding stuff is fun

ken will
05-20-2009, 02:25 PM
Hi everyone

I am just learning to stick weld and at first it was frustrating, but now I am welding more than sticking.

I am not quite confident enough to build a bike yet ( I have the plans for the SteetFox ) so for my first project I built a Kayak trailer.

http://cid-f242625b103d3e9f.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Kayak%20trailer/Gedc0040.jpg

I just tried it on the bumpiest roads I could find and it didn't fall apart!!

Radical Brad
05-20-2009, 03:32 PM
Soon you will be giving advice and welding like a pro!

Brad

Patrike
05-20-2009, 03:40 PM
I do not envy your task ahead for the stick welding -- I have done it a few times up at my borthers -- then I talked him into a MIG - he does not touch the stick welder unless he has a really thick steel to work on like with front end loaders. Not trying to discourage you -- just takes a little more practice for stick - you have to move in 2 dimensions while welding - the MIG just one movement - I am not cut out for that -- stick with it :jester: Looking forward to seeing some progress.

pcorbett
05-20-2009, 09:58 PM
Dude you were here!

http://home.comcast.net/~ppcorbett/pwpimages/2-15-02_SheepPond_a.jpg

Pete

Richie Rich
05-21-2009, 12:06 AM
Nah...he was HERE...!!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3203/2594669594_d0f5c1d9b3.jpg

...Richie....

pcorbett
05-21-2009, 06:14 AM
Nah Rich...... thats what we call " off Cape " he was at Sheep Pond dipping his kayak in yesterdays hot sun! His picture doesn't show in this tread for me but he has 7 pics up with the trailer.......oh nice job Ken............and his yellow kayak.........you can't hide...........

Pete

ken will
05-21-2009, 04:37 PM
Actually I have done the canal ride, but yesterday I was at Sheep Pond in Brewster.

The trailer tows real nice and I am happy I jumped into this welding stuff.