PDA

View Full Version : Look what followed me home - Dillon Mark III

trikeman
03-29-2009, 11:36 AM
I put this here from the wooden seat thread in another section, so as not to hijack that one too much. More updates as I learn to use it.

A few weeks ago I went to look at some oxy-acetylene tanks and regulators a guy had for a good price on Craigslist. While I was there, he asked if I might be interested in an old torch. "Let me see it," I said and he pulled out this piece of Australian ingenuity:

http://www.atlantamusclecars.com/OxyWeld/MyDillon.jpg

He asked if I had ever heard of one, not knowing I had secretely lusted for one for years. I asked how much and he said $50, so it followed me home [g]. It works great. I just love finding hidden treasures at garage sales and the like and that little gem made the whole trip to his place worthwhile. I am just dying to try it on Al. I am still learning to use it on steel (welding and brazing). Experienced O/A welders tell me it can't it can't do anything my Smith AW1 airline torch can't, but I like having the whole kit in such a handy package. I don't know how many hours I have spent watching the videos here:

http://www.amweld.com.au/video_menu.htm

scootdaddy
03-29-2009, 12:00 PM
thats a cool torch got to try and find one of those (used of course cause I'm so dang cheap)

Keith

rickairmed
03-29-2009, 12:16 PM
Trikeman I am going to use a term of endearment we use on another group I belong to on a regular basis :D YOU SUCK . That looks just like a Henrob torch which I have lusted after for years . I watch them every year at the streetrod nats welding aluminum cans together with one of those little monsters . I just havent been ably to bring myself to hand over $400.00 bucks for the kit .

Rick

Odd Man Out
03-29-2009, 12:36 PM
Trikeman