PDA

View Full Version : Make a lightweight seat for your High Roller

taloch
01-28-2009, 11:46 AM
Hi,

This is just one way to make a strong, lightweight seat for your High Roller. I have been using this design for a couple of years now and I am very pleased with the results. This seat design directly supports your spine and not your butt, as you are lying back on your spine.

You need 1/8th thickness checker plate. It's alluminium and at this thickness can be bent to shape by jumping on it. I tried 1/16th thickness but it wasn't rigid enough and needed a supporting frame which added more weight, and a piece 3/16th thick was far too hard to shape and also too heavy. So I went with 1/8th and it has stood the test of time, being light, rigid enough to hold it's shape and not needing any maintenance. Can also be drilled for lightness and ventilation if you wish. Checker plate was easy for me to acquire so I used that, but I suspect any hard grade (Dural) 1/8th alumimium would do the job just as well.

I jumped on mine for about 15 minutes before I was happy with the resulting shape.

You will need a piece about 36 inches long by 7 inches wide. The width you choose will have a direct relationship to the width of your shoulder blades! For me, 7 inches it just right to fit between mine and is comfortable to ride over long distances at this width. You don't want the seat chafing the insides of your shoulder blades... believe me it is painful. The seat is the same width all the way down because as I said it is supporting your spine not your butt.