PDA

View Full Version : First try pic, finally got welder together, made some bump on scrap piece.

tomas
01-06-2009, 01:04 AM
Hi all,

I finally got all the parts and put my basic HF welder together.
(HF 90 amp, flux core)

I did not have a lot of time but I attempted some basic stuff on some scraps.
I was successful in creating a piece of slightly bumpy metal, see pic.

I set it to MAX and tried different speeds, perhaps my outlet is not pwerful enough.

Sag Advice Welcome! :(

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1980/91/74/1506353441/n1506353441_146413_7524.jpg

Yeah, Rome was not build in a day..

Thanks,

t.

Radical Brad
01-06-2009, 01:51 AM
Looks like barely enough heat to melt tinfoil there!

Brad

theDude
01-06-2009, 03:10 AM
I use the same welder. Make sure you have a good ground on the piece you're welding and the feed wheel is clean. It doesn't look like you are getting anywhere near enough current.

jimFPU
01-06-2009, 09:06 AM
I'm no pro, but with the other advice you may want to hold the tip as close as possible to the material.

tomas
01-06-2009, 09:37 AM
Thanks for all your replies.

Over the next few days I will continue to experiment and try out the various suggestions.

t.

trikeman
01-06-2009, 09:58 AM
tomas - hard to say exactly what it is doing yet, but as others have said it looks cold. Then again its a pretty small sample. Make sure you are within a reasonable distance on your arc gap (around 1/8"-1/4").