PDA

View Full Version : Need some help welding E.M.T.

zobman
09-08-2008, 09:15 PM
I have been tring to weld up a seat frame out of 1/2" E.M.T. I am using a a Clarke 130EN Mig welder, with .023 wire and Argon gas. I have ground the galvanized down and fishmouthed the tubing, but everytime I try to weld it up, it just spits and sputters and I can not get the weld to flow. I am using 1 and 2 for heat and wire speed at 3 and 4. Can any body give me any help? PLEASE!!!!!!!!:confused:

ggriffin924
09-08-2008, 09:37 PM
I have a millermatic welder and the settings I've been using 6 voltage, and 30 for the wirefeed. I've found if I pull back a bit farther then normal, the emt does weld up. I don't even bother removing the coating for the conduit, I still blow through but not bad. I also have my gas at 30 fpm on the flow meter. I'm still pretty new to the hacking scene, but for some reason, my welding on emt, looks better than on the square tubing. Oh, I have been told to watch the fumes from the emt coating,,, so be carefull about that, if you don't remove it.

I have been tring to weld up a seat frame out of 1/2" E.M.T. I am using a a Clarke 130EN Mig welder, with .023 wire and Argon gas. I have ground the galvanized down and fishmouthed the tubing, but everytime I try to weld it up, it just spits and sputters and I can not get the weld to flow. I am using 1 and 2 for heat and wire speed at 3 and 4. Can any body give me any help? PLEASE!!!!!!!!:confused:

John Lewis
09-08-2008, 10:16 PM
but everytime I try to weld it up, it just spits and sputters and I can not get the weld to flow. .... Can any body give me any help? PLEASE!!!!!!!!:confused: