o - shielding gas
o - arc welding

just curious ;)

greetings

lumo
08-11-2008, 03:20 AM
as i am not a mechanic ill try arc welding in the next couple of days/weeks
i was at a friends home whos using oxy-acetylene and shielding gas
but the results he brought were not what i expected (and the "toys" are expensive and use load of space)
therefore i look forward to arc welding (electric welding - i hope i translated that right.)

i want to create a StreetFighter but will try to weld a simple scooter before, further i am not sure if i should buy the plan for the streetfighter cause of:

The StreetFighter is made mostly of standard bicycle components and square steel tubing, with only two small parts that need to be machined.
its a pain in the a$$ to get machined parts where i live! you pay too much for machined parts IFF you are able to get em. i fear to run into a price where i could buy a motorized car for it ;)

Gerald_G
08-11-2008, 08:35 PM
I use a very inexpensive Arc welder from Princess Auto (Canadian company), and 3/32 rods. I'm not very practiced, and most of my welds need touching with the grinder. I'm not sure if it's the equipment or the operator. Either way, they are strong, and I'm having fun.

trikeman
08-11-2008, 08:43 PM
its a pain in the a$$ to get machined parts where i live! you pay too much for machined parts IFF you are able to get em. i fear to run into a price where i could buy a motorized car for it ;)

I know the advertisement for the plans say, The StreetFighter is made mostly of standard bicycle components and square steel tubing, with only two small parts that need to be machined, but I can't figure out what those two small parts are. My guess is there is a work around.